TUESDAY TIRADE

Tonight I sit here not pleased with the Hoosiers at all with a 92-78 loss to Wisconsin tonight smacked in between a win over Rutgers and a blow out loss to Purdue.

There will be no Purdue review but I will go over tonight’s loss by looking at Wisconsin and IU.  I will go over IU first since this is a IU blog.  I will break the Todd Jadlow rule of ripping into players and calling them out individually.

INDIANA

1.  IU did a very poor job of moving on offense in the second half.  They got better towards the end but I was so angry at the end because of the lack of energy in the half and the failure to move the ball.

2.  I wish this team had five Yogis.  He is a fierce competitor.  He fought he even though he did not score a lot.  He even had to guard big man Frank Kaminsky of Wisconsin.

3.  The ball movement was much better in the first half and for some reason the energy and ball movement was not there in the second half.  It got better as the second half moved along but it was still not enough to please me.

4.  Troy Williams plays with energy but once again I got angry with him.  I saw a selfish play when IU was behind and he just dribbled the ball all the way down when they needed to move the ball around for shots and he missed a lay-up.

5.  Another play infuriated me when I saw Colllin Hartman not help on defense.  I was livid on that play which I don’t remember.

6. The bottom line is I can deal with IU getting beat but I need to see energy and fight in the Hoosiers.  I felt I did not see that in the second half that is why I am so angry.

7.  For the first time in the Tom Crean era, I have doubted his coaching.  Everyone says he did a great job in the first half of the season.  I still back him but I just don’t understand why IU came out not moving the ball like they were in the last three fourths of the first half.

8.  NIck Zeisloft did well shooting the three in the second half and Williams later did a nice job of moving the ball which eventually led to a basket by Robert Johnson.

9.  The first half saw IU fall behind 9-0 but they were able to come back with the three point shooting of Hartman.

10.  Dan Dakich said the subbing of Crean drives IU fans crazy as he subbed out Troy Williams and Hartman when they were hot.  It usually does not bother me but it did tonight.

11.  IU played zone again.  I would much rather see them play man but I guess without being able to play more big guys and Hanner Perea being out, Crean has decided to go zone.

12. IU shot very well in the first half and I am not going to look at the second half numbers because I was mad at their lack of energy.

13.  It was definitely a huge blow not having James Blackmon in the game because of an ankle injury.  I think IU may have been six points closer.

14.  I also question why Emmit Holt did not play more.

WISCONSIN

1.  Tonight, I expected Wisconsin to show a lot of their swing offense.  But what impressed  me the most about tonight was their ability to flex their muscles against the zone.  They used their strength in Kaminsky and he just tore up the Hoosiers.   He had to play against smaller guys in Collin Hartman, Robert Johnson and Yogi Ferrell.

2.  Wisconsin got off to their early lead in the game as they kept feeding Nigel Hayes and Kaminsky.  Hayes schooled Max Hoetzel in the first half off the dribble

3.  Sam Dekker and Josh Gasser were big in beating IU off the dribble.

4.  Dan Dakich said Wisconsin is successful off the dribble because of their spacing on offense.

5. Bronson Koenig was they guy who stood out for me as he hit some big three pointers.

6.  Dekker had a big three in the second half and Koenig was hot to start the second.

7.  The key plays in the game for Wisconsin for me the big start to the second half, a Josh Gasser three pointer after IU failed to push a fast break when the should have scored and Dekker’s offensive rebound and tip in to end the first half.

8.  After the big start to the second half, Wisky pretty much coasted the rest of the way.

WHAT I EXPECT FROM IU THE REST OF THE WAY

IU’s schedule gets no easier from year, I expect energy and fight for 40 minutes win or lose.  They are going to have to be more consistent moving the ball on offense.  On defense, they are going to have to bust their tails in practice to get better.  For Tom Crean, his challenge is to get his team to win without experienced big men.  He is also going to have to continue to develop a toughness for 40 minutes.

The next eight games could be big in deciding Tom Crean’s future.  This is the first time I have doubted him.  I still want him as my coach and I want the Hoosiers to get better.  I obviously can’t stand seeing them lose.

Leave a Reply

